The Resident Coordinator System in the Caribbean

The United Nations Country Teams in Belize, Guyana and Suriname, and the three Multi-Country Teams operating out of Barbados, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago, are each led by a Resident Coordinator designated to oversee development coordination activities in their respective duty stations.

These Resident Coordinators (RC) are part of a system for synchronizing UN activities at the country level into a coherent development product. This system – comprising the  Resident Coordinator, the UN Country Team, and the Resident Coordinator Office - is supported by the UN Development Coordination Office (DCO).

The system’s coordinating role is extended regionally through the network of five Resident Coordinators (one is assigned for both Suriname and Trinidad Tobago) stationed in the Caribbean. They jointly manage implementation of the United Nations Multi-Country Sustainable Development Cooperation Framework (UN MSDCF) - a blueprint for UN support to Caribbean Governments.

Resident Coordinators  

Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean: UN Resident Coordinator Simon Springett

Belize: UN Resident Coordinator Raul Salazar

Guyana: UN Resident Coordinator Yeşim Oruç

Jamaica, The Bahamas, Bermuda, The Cayman Islands, and Turks and Caicos: UN Resident Coordinator Dennis Zulu

Suriname: UN Resident Coordinator Joanna Kazana

Trinidad and Tobago, Aruba, Curacao and Sint Maarten: UN Resident Coordinator Joanna Kazana